Author Topic: Burke Lake : A true challenge  (Read 5160 times)

dmn276

Burke Lake : A true challenge
« on: October 31, 2013, 10:45:04 AM »
Hello everyone my name is Dennis Nease I am a member Of BayBass pro staff. My first topic I would like to bring up on this forum is Burke lake located in northern Va between Fairfax Va and Lorton Va. As evryone knows who lives in this area and has fished Burke it can be a tough lake to crack. Reason being it has a huge forage base of shad which is the primary. Then other fish such as blugill etc etc not to mention its huge crayfish population. Anyone can fish Burke and if the fish are on the various forms of shallow cover the lake offers one can have a pretty good day, with even a couple really nice fish possibly. A limit of 12 to 14 inch largemouth can be caught with relative ease. However if yall have fished Burke for as many years as I have we all know her moods can change in a heartbeat and when her moods change. Watch Out  !!. When the largemouth start following the shad around the lake alot of times directly over the creek channel or along various migration routes it can be brutal. These fish are suspended, alot of fisherman can fish suspended fish very well Burke lake will challenge the best . Over the years I have fished in this area with alot of really top notch fisherman. Some of them fish Burke real well. But even they have very hard times out there sometimes. A very good old friend of mine who I started Bass fishing with over 23 years ago says one of the best baits to fish Burke with when the fish are not on the shallow cover is a spinnerbait its a very good bait to fish between the water colums, these days there are so many baits a fisherman can throw at these fish and now this new A- rig is out I am not very familiar with it. I do know it has its applications from time to time. Anyway if anyone has anything to add to this discussion please do. When I have more time I will enter this forum again and continue this di